主要内容顶部

保安编码系统常见问题

保安编码系统 - 常见问题

对您的保安编码系统有疑问?请放心,我们特地为您准备了相关的常见问题和答案,让您了解如何激活和使用安全密码器或行动加密编码,以及一些排除故障方法。

您使用的是哪种保安编码系统?

目前总共有2种保安编码系统类型。

  1. 行动加密编码
  2. 实体安全密码器

行动加密编码常见问题

内容

常见问题

什么是行动加密编码?

行动加密编码为您的实体安全密码器的电子版本,且可以通过汇丰新加坡手机银行获取,以取代您的实体安全密码器。功能包括可以生成唯一的、且一次性使用的安全密码,用于登录和使用网上银行,同时为您的日常交易提供额外保障。

您可通过汇丰新加坡手机银行使用行动加密编码,汇丰新加坡手机银行支持多种操作系统和装置。在您激活行动加密编码后,则毋须携带实体安全密码器即可随时使用。

为什么需要设置行动加密编码?

我们建议您应尽快设置您的行动加密编码,我们将不再发放新的/替换实体安全密码器。您可通过汇丰新加坡手机银行,获取行动加密编码,更加简单方便,毋须携带额外的设备。

激活行动加密编码后,我的实体安全密码器会怎么样?能否在激活行动加密编码后,继续使用我的安全密码器?

一旦激活了行动加密编码后,您的安全密码器将立即失效。安全密码器小巧不碍地方,可以将其直接放进普通电子废弃物回收箱回收。

能否在激活行动加密编码后,继续使用我的安全密码器?

不可以,每个客户只能备有一个保安编码系统,即安全密码器或行动加密编码。在汇丰新加坡手机银行激活行动加密编码后,您的实体安全密码器即刻失效不能使用。

我觉得使用行动加密编码并不安全,怎么办?

我们完全理解您的顾虑。请放心,我们的行动加密编码安全可靠,备有先进的安全保障功能。每次在使用行动加密编码时,您必须提供您的6位开机密码或通过生物识别功能(面容ID/触控ID/指纹识别)作身份验证。一旦在您的装置上激活了行动加密编码后,将随即连接至您的个人账户,仅允许您本人才能通过已连接行动加密编码的装置管理账户。其他用户则无法通过您已连接行动加密编码的装置,以登录他们的汇丰新加坡手机银行。

我可以在多个装置设置行动加密编码吗?

可以,您能同时在最多3个移动装置上设置行动加密编码。

我是新客户,可以选择不用行动加密编码来获取安全密码器吗?

我们建议所有客户均通过行动加密编码,以登录和使用网上银行,更加安全方便。从2020年10月21日起,我们不再向任何新客户发放安全密码器,没有智能手机除外。如果您由于某些原因无法使用行动加密编码,请联系我们,以便我们为您提供进一步协助。

设置行动加密编码

我想要激活我的行动加密编码, 应该怎么做?

您可以先下载或更新至最新版的汇丰新加坡手机银行。然后按照屏幕上的指示操作,即可激活您的行动加密编码。

我没有安全密码器,是否可以激活行动加密编码?

可以,您可以先下载最新版本的汇丰新加坡手机银行,并按照屏幕上的指示操作即可。

自2020年10月21日起,如汇丰新客户在移动装置上,成功安装最新版的汇丰新加坡手机银行后,行动加密编码将会自动激活。

在看到提示激活行动加密编码时,我是否可以选择不继续,并通过实体安全密码器使用汇丰新加坡手机银行?

请注意,已安装汇丰新加坡手机银行、并已激活安全密码器的现有客户,才能选择稍后激活行动加密编码。允许跳过激活行动加密编码仅在限期内有效,其间,您可以继续通过现有的实体安全密码器,以登录和使用汇丰新加坡手机银行。当您需要激活行动加密编码才能继续使用汇丰新加坡手机银行时,本行将会向您发送信息提示。

其他所有客户若选择继续使用安全密码器,将会无法使用汇丰新加坡手机银行。您需要在看到提示时激活行动加密编码,才可以使用汇丰新加坡手机银行,您的安全密码器随即会被停用。

在2020年10月21日以后,下载汇丰新加坡手机银行的汇丰新客户,一旦成功设置汇丰新加坡手机银行,您的行动加密编码将自动激活。

如果您由于某些原因无法使用行动加密编码,请联系我们,以便我们为您提供进一步协助。

我已经有一个设置了行动加密编码的装置,如何在新的移动装置上设置?

您可以在新的移动装置上,通过网上银行密码和经短信获取的一次性验证码,以设置您的行动加密编码。

若您忘记了密码,则须先通过网上银行重置密码。

如果您尚未设定密码,请联系我们申请获取实体安全密码器。在您收到安全密码器后,可以再次联系我们,或亲临任一分行激活安全密码器。您可以通过该安全密码器登录网上银行并设定密码。然后通过新设定的密码和经短信获取的一次性验证码,在汇丰新加坡手机银行上设置您的行动加密编码。

我有一个新的移动装置,我可以在其装置上使用行动加密编码吗?

若希望在新的移动装置上使用您现有的行动加密装置,只需将汇丰新加坡手机银行下载到其设备上,然后使用您的用户名、网上银行密码和通过短信获取的一次验证码进行设置。

如果您决定从已有的移动装置上删除汇丰新加坡手机银行,请先取消该装置和手机银行之间的连结。您可以在该装置应用程序中的Profile > Security > Manage Devices > 找到需要删除的装置,并选择“Remove this device”。

请注意:如果这是您首次下载汇丰新加坡手机银行,请确保您记得网上银行密码,以便成功设置。

如果您尚未设定密码,请联系我们申请获取安全密码器。在您收到安全密码器后,可以再次联系我们,或亲临任一分行激活安全密码器。您可以通过该安全密码器登录网上银行并设定密码。然后通过新设定的密码和经短信获取的一次性验证码,在汇丰新加坡手机银行上设置您的行动加密编码。

我卸载了已连接行动加密编码的手机银行,但当我在同一个装置上下载该其应用程序,并输入我的用户名时,它要求我重新设定密码。如果我不记得密码或没有密码该怎么办?

请前往并使用密码登录您的网上银行。在输入密码界面,您可以点击忘记密码链接,并按照指示重置密码。获取新密码后,即可在手机应用程序上重新设置行动加密编码。

如果您尚未设定密码,请联系我们申请实体安全密码器。在您收到安全密码器后,可以再次联系我们,或亲临任一分行激活安全密码器。您可以通过该安全密码器登录网上银行并设定密码,以供日后使用。然后您可以通过网上银行密码和经短信获取的一次性密码,在汇丰新加坡手机银行设置行动加密编码,或者继续使用您的安全密码器。

我在使用行动加密编码时遇到问题,所以拨打了你们的服务热线。然后我收到了你们邮寄给我的全新实体安全密码器。接下来该怎么做?

请先通过行动加密编码登录汇丰新加坡手机银行,进入Profile>Security>Manage Devices>移除列表上的所有装置,然后选择您当前使用的装置即可。过程中如遇到困难,请联系我们以获取进一步的协助。

然后请使用您的用户名和密码,在个人电脑/笔记本电脑上登录网上银行,并按照屏幕上的指示激活新的安全密码器。

行动加密编码的使用和排除故障方法

如果我忘记了用来开启行动加密编码的6位数字密码,怎么办?

您可以输入网上银行密码和通过短信获取的一次性验证码,以重置6位数字密码。只须在应用程序登录页面上点击“Forgotten your PIN?”链接,然后根据指示操作。请确保您于本行已登记有效的手提电话号码,才能通过短信获取一次性验证码,以重置您的6位数字密码。

万一我遗失了手机怎么办?

如果您有另一个移动装置安装了汇丰新加坡手机银行,请在该装置上登录,然后前往Profile > Security > Manage devices >,在列表中找到您已遗失的装备,并选择“Remove device”。

若您没有另外一个已安装汇丰新加坡手机银行的移动装置,请联系我们报失,我们将从您的个人信息中取消绑定您的装置。

如果我在国外,且手机无法连接网络,也可以使用行动加密编码吗?

可以,行动加密编码能够离线生成安全密码。您可以开启汇丰新加坡手机银行,点击“Return to log on”按钮,进入主页后点击“Generate security code”。

我输入了正确的6位数字密码,或使用生物识别验证生成了安全密码,但收到该安全密码无效的系统提示。我确认已使用正确的6位数字密码/已通过生物识别验证,为什么会收到这个错误提示?

出现此错误的原因之一,可能是您的装置尚未通过网络运营商自动更新时间。请确保在您的装备上开启此功能。前往您的移动装置设定,并开启通过网络运营商自动更新时间设置。

若您还是无法解决此问题,请联系我们,以便我们为您提供进一步协助。

如果我不喜欢使用行动加密编码,能否选择换回安全密码器?

很抱歉,我们仅为无法使用行动加密编码的客户提供安全密码器。您可以联系我们获取更多详情。

安全密码器

内容

获取您的安全密码器

什么是安全密码器?

安全密码器是一种小型可携式的电子装置,可随机生成一次性的安全密码,以登录您的网上银行和进行交易操作。

安全密码器为网上银行用户提供多一层的反诈骗交易保护。您必须:

  • 在每次交易时,在此装置上输入收款人的相关信息
  • 用安全密码器生成交易安全码,以授权每次转账/汇款交易。

采用密码保护的安全密码器

您的安全密码器是采用密码保护的独特装置。您需要在初次启用时设定一组安全密码器开机密码,且在以后每次使用前,都需利用这组密码以开启安全密码器。

什么是安全密码?

安全密码是由安全密码器生成的一次性随机数字。当您使用本行网上银行时,必须将安全密码搭配用户名与密码一起使用。当需要转账至第三方、缴付账单和更新个人信息时,均会要求您输入安全密码。

什么是安全密码器序列号?

安全密码器序列号由一组10位数字组成的号码,以识别您的个人安全密码器。它位于安全密码器的背面,格式为XX-XXXXXXX-X,X为数字(例如:12-3456789-0)。序列号也用于识别在家中或公司里的不同安全密码器,请勿移除。

安全密码器上的序列号明显易见,会有什么风险吗?

序列号用于识别与该安全密码器有关的特定客户,且仅在激活的过程中需要用到。序列号明显易见,并不会带来任何风险。

我刚注册了网上银行,但还没有安全密码器。什么时候能够收到我的安全密码器?

您可以下载汇丰新加坡手机银行,并立即激活您的行动加密编码,让您可以通过生成安全密码,以使用网上银行和手机银行服务。

如果您申请安全密码器,我们将在5个工作日(新加坡邮寄地址)或12个工作日(海外邮寄地址)内,邮寄至您的通讯地址。

设置您的安全密码器

我刚刚收到安全密码器,应该怎么激活?

当您注册了网上银行,并收到安全密码器后,请按照以下步骤激活。

  1. Log on to your Online Banking
  2. 看到弹出页面后,下拉并展开“Don't have compatible device”一栏。
  3. 点击“Activate now”,并按照屏幕上的指示操作。

我要如何开启安全密码器?

请按照以下步骤操作:

只需4个步骤,即可开启安全密码器。 步骤一:按住绿色按键2秒,以开启安全密码器。 步骤二:使用键盘输入密码。 此时屏幕上会显示“HSBC”提示。

为什么会显示“FAIL 1”、“FAIL 2”或“FAIL 3”信息?

这是因为您所输入的密码不正确。请按下绿色按钮,并重新输入密码。请注意,您将有3次机会输入正确的密码,若连续3次输入错误,您的安全密码器将被锁定。

为什么要为新的安全密码器设定密码?

您的安全密码器是采用密码保护的独特装置。为了增加安全性,您在激活时必须设定密码,且在每次使用安全密码器前,必须先用该密码进行解锁。

可以选择几位数字作为密码?

您只能为新装置选择6位数字的密码。

如何设定新的密码?

请按照以下步骤操作:

关于如何更改安全密码器密码的指示说明。 步骤一:按住绿色按钮2秒,以开启您的安全密码器。 步骤二:使用键盘输入新的密码。 步骤三:按下黄色按钮完成首次密码输入。 步骤四:重新输入一次,确认新的密码。 成功输入密码后,屏幕上将会显示“NEW PIN CONF”2秒。

如果我的密码设定失败,将会发生什么事?

安全密码器的屏幕上将显示“FAIL PIN”信息,即表示您已确认的密码与第一次输入的密码并不相符。如您遇到此状况,请按绿色按键以重新开始密码设定程序。

有关安全密码器屏幕上,显示密码设定失败信息的图片。

为什么我会在安全密码器上看到”NEW PIN NOT SAFE“的信息?

这表示您输入的新密码不安全,且容易猜测,即重复或依序连续的数字(如:111111、123456、543210等)。请重新设定密码,并选择另一组6位数字的密码。

有关安全密码器屏幕上,显示不安全密码信息的图片。

为什么需要拨打客服热线,才能激活我的安全密码器?

请在30天内激活您的安全密码器。超过30天后,您必须通过拨打我们的客服热线进行激活操作。

不过您仍可使用完整的用户名和现有密码登录网上银行,这也是另一种登录您的网上银行账户的方式,但部分功能需要通过安全密码器登录才能使用。

使用您的安全密码器

如何使用我的安全密码器登录?

关于如何使用安全密码器登录的指示说明。 指示一:使用键盘输入数字密码。 指示二:按下黄色按钮生成安全密码。 指示三:按下绿色按钮启动安全密码器。

如果我忘记了安全密码器的密码,该怎么办?

请按照以下步骤操作:

  1. 进入网上银行登录页面,输入您的用户名,然后点击“continue”。
  2. 点击安全密码输入框上面的问号。
  3. 点击“Forgotten your PIN”。
  4. 参照屏幕上的指示操作。
关于如何输入和生成安全密码的指示说明

如何更改我的安全密码器密码?

请参照以下步骤操作:

关于如何更改安全密码器密码的指示说明。 步骤一:按住绿色按钮2秒,以开启您的安全密码器。 步骤二:使用键盘输入新的密码。 步骤三:按下黄色按钮完成首次密码输入。 步骤四:重新输入一次,确认新的密码。 成功输入密码后,屏幕上将会显示“NEW PIN CONF”2秒。

假设我在授权程序中,将错误的数字输入到安全密码器时,该怎么办?

如果您将错误的数字输入到安全密码器,请轻按绿色按钮删除您最后输入的字符。若需要清除全部的输入,请长按同一个绿色按钮即可。

如果我在国外,没有收到激活安全密码器的一次性验证码的短信,该怎么办?

我们将通过您在系统中所登记的手机号码,向您发送一次性验证码的短信,以激活安全密码器。在此短信验证页面,您部分的手机号码将被屏蔽。请确保该手机号码正确,并且已经更新。如果需要更新您的手机号码,请亲临汇丰分行或通过以下方式之一进行更新:

拥有Singpass的客户,可使用Myinfo在个人联系方式更新页面对您的联系方式作出更新(仅适用于Singpass用户 )。

新加坡境内客户请下载个人信息和联系方式更新表格(PDF)并使用商业回邮信封寄回给我们。

新加坡海外客户请下载个人信息和联系方式更新表格(海外)(PDF)并使用商业回邮信封寄回给我们。

安全密码器的电池可以使用多久?

安全密码器是由电池供电,电池寿命视使用频率约为3至5年。当安全密码器电池电量即将耗尽时,即会显示“BATT#”信息提醒您。

我需要替安全密码器更换电池吗?

不需要,安全密码器的电池无法更换。安全密码器会发出电池电量即将耗尽的警告,届时请联系我们更换安全密码器。

更换或升级安全密码器

如果我的安全密码器遗失或被盗,该怎么办?

请立即通知我们为您办理停用遗失或遭窃的安全密码器。

个人网上银行用户请致电我们的24小时客户服务热线,新加坡用户拨打1800-HSBC NOW (472 2669),海外用户拨打 (65) 6-HSBC NOW (472 2669)

如果我想更换安全密码器,该怎样办?

我们建议所有客户可以通过汇丰新加坡手机银行,以获取您的行动加密编码。如果您无法使用行动加密编码,请亲临分行或与我们联系,以申请更换安全密码器。

Top of main content

Security token Frequently Asked Questions

Security token - general questions

Questions about your security token? Well, you're in the right place. You'll find information on how to activate and use your Security Device or Digital Secure Key, as well as some troubleshooting tips.

What type of security token are you using?

There are currently two types of security token.

  1. Digital Secure Key
  2. Physical Security Device

Digital Secure Key questions

Contents

General questions

What is a Digital Secure Key?

Digital Secure Key is a digital version of your physical Security Device that can be accessed from your HSBC Singapore app and it replaces your physical Security Device.  Its functions include generating a unique, one-time use security code for logging onto Online Banking and accessing to the full range of online banking services while providing extra protection for your transactions.

Digital Secure Key works as part of the HSBC Singapore app which supports various operating systems and devices.  Once you activate your Digital Secure Key you can access anytime without needing to carry a physical Security Device anymore.

Why do I need to set up the Digital Secure Key?

We encourage you to set up your Digital Secure Key as soon as possible as we will no longer be issuing a new/replacement physical Security Device. Digital Secure Key is more convenient as it is accessed via HSBC Singapore app and you do not need to carry an additional piece of device.

What will happen to my physical Security Device once my Digital Secure Key is activated? Can I continue to use my physical Security Device after activating Digital Secure Key?

Once your Digital Secure Key has been activated, your physical Security Device will be deactivated immediately. Given the size of the token, it is safe to dispose it in a regular non secured e-waste bin.

Can I continue to use my physical Security Device after activating Digital Secure Key?

No, each customer can only have 1 token – either a physical Security Device or a Digital Secure Key. Your physical Security Device will be deactivated immediately when you activate your Digital Secure Key in the HSBC Singapore app.

What if I don't think Digital Secure Key is secure enough?

We fully understand your concerns. You can rest assured that Digital Secure Key is completely secure. It is built with advanced security and protection features. To use Digital Secure Key, you will be required to authenticate yourself each time by either providing your 6-digit PIN or biometrics (Face ID / Touch ID / Fingerprint ID). Once you have activated Digital Secure Key on your device, your Digital Secure Key is linked to your personal accounts, and only you can access your accounts through your Digital Secure Key-linked device. Other users cannot log on to their HSBC Singapore app using your Digital Secure Key-linked device.

Can I set up Digital Secure Key on more than one device?

Yes, you can set up your Digital Secure Key up to 3 mobile devices simultaneously.

I am a new customer. Can I opt out of Digital Secure Key and get a physical Security Device?

We encourage all customers to use the Digital Secure Key as it is an easier and safer way to log on and bank online. We will not be issuing physical Security Device to all new customers from 21 Oct 2020, unless you do not have a smartphone. If for some reason, you are not able to use Digital Secure Key please contact us so we can assist you further.

Setting up your Digital Secure Key

I would like to activate my Digital Secure Key. What do I do?

You can download or update to the latest version of the HSBC Singapore app. Follow the onscreen instructions and your Digital Secure Key will be activated.

I do not have a physical Security Device. Can I activate Digital Secure Key?

Yes you can activate your Digital Secure Key by downloading the latest version of the HSBC Singapore app and follow the onscreen instructions.

For new to HSBC customers after October 21, 2020, your Digital Secure Key will be automatically activated upon successful set-up of the latest HSBC Singapore app in your mobile device.

When I am prompted to activate Digital Secure Key, can I choose not to proceed and continue to use physical Security Device with HSBC Singapore app?

The option to activate the Digital Secure Key at a later time is only offered to existing customers who have already set-up the HSBC Singapore app and has an active physical Security Device. Skipping the activation of the Digital Secure Key is offered for a limited period only and you may continue using your existing physical Security Device with HSBC Singapore app within this period. Further communication will be sent by the bank once you need to activate the Digital Secure Key to continue using your HSBC Singapore app.

For new to HSBC customers downloading our HSBC Singapore app after October 21, 2020, your Digital Secure Key will automatically be activated upon successful set-up of the HSBC Singapore app.

If for some reason, you are not able use the Digital Secure Key, please contact us so we can assist you further.

How can I set up Digital Secure Key on a new mobile device if I already have a Digital Secure Key on one device?

You can set up Digital Secure Key on another new mobile device using your Online Banking password and receiving an SMS OTP.

If you have forgotten your password, when you try to set it up at a new device, you will need to reset your password first via Online Banking.

If you have not set-up a password yet, please contact us and request a physical Security Device. Once you receive this, you may contact us again or proceed to any branch to activate the physical Security Device for you. Using this physical Security Device, you can then log on to Online banking and set up a password. You can then set up your Digital Secure Key on the HSBC Singapore app using the newly created password and SMS OTP.

I have a new mobile device. Can I use Digital Secure Key on my new device?

To use your existing Digital Secure Key in your new mobile device, simply download our HSBC Singapore app onto your new mobile device and then set it up using your username, your Online Banking password and an SMS OTP.

If you decide to remove the HSBC Singapore app from your old mobile device, it is important that you first remove the link between the old device and the app. You can do this within the old device's app by going to Profile > Security > Manage Devices > find the device to be removed and select "Remove this device".

Note: If this is your first time to download HSBC Singapore app, please ensure you have your Online Banking password with you so you can set it up successfully.

If you have not set-up a password yet, please contact us and request a physical Security Device. Once you receive this, you may contact us again or proceed to any branch to activate the physical Security Device for you. Using this physical Security Device, you can then log on to Online banking and set up a password. You can then set up your Digital Secure Key on the HSBC Singapore app using the created password and SMS.

I have deleted my app with Digital Secure Key, but when I download the app on the same device and input my username, it's asking me to set up with password again. What if I don't remember my password or I don't have a password?

Please go to Online Banking and choose to log on with Password. On password input screen, you can follow the Forgotten Password link to reset your password. With the new password, you can set up Digital Secure Key on the mobile app again.

If you did not set up a password previously, please contact us and request a physical Security Device. Once you receive this, contact us or proceed to any branch to activate the Security Device for you. Using this Security Device, you can log on to Online banking and set up a password for future use. You can then either set up a Digital Secure Key on the HSBC Singapore app using either password and SMS, or continue using the Physical Security Device.

I have contacted your hotline after I had issues using the Digital Secure Key. They sent me a new physical Security Device as a replacement. What do I do next?

First you need to log on to HSBC Singapore app with your Digital Secure Key, go to Profile > Security > Manage Devices > remove all devices listed, ending with the one you are currently using. If you have problem doing that, please contact us for help.

Next, log on to online banking on your PC/laptop using your username and password and follow onscreen instructions to activate your new physical Security Device.

Using and troubleshooting your Digital Secure Key

What if I forget my 6-digit PIN to access my Digital Secure Key?

You can reset the 6-digit PIN by providing your password and a one-time SMS code. Simply follow the "Forgotten your PIN?" link on the log on page of the app. Please note that you need to have a valid mobile phone number that is in our records in order to receive the one-time SMS code to reset your 6-digit PIN.

What should I do if I lose my phone?

If you have the HSBC Singapore app set up on another mobile device, please log in to the app on that device and go to Profile > Security > Manage devices > find the lost device in the list and select "Remove device".

If you have not set up the HSBC Singapore app on another mobile device, please contact us to report the lost device so we can de-link your device from your profile.

Can the Digital Secure Key be used if I'm overseas and my phone does not have internet access?

Yes the Digital Secure Key can be used offline to generate security codes. You can launch your HSBC Singapore app, and tap on the button "Return to log on" and once you're at the home page, tap on "Generate security code".

I have entered the correct 6-digit PIN or used biometrics to generate a security code, but I'm getting an error that this is invalid. I know I have used the correct 6-Digit PIN/my biometrics was accepted – why am I getting this error?

One of the possible reasons for this error is that the device time is not auto-retrieved from the network provider. Please ensure this is enabled on your device. Go to your mobile device settings and set the time to automatically retrieve from your network provider.

If in case this does not solve the issue, please contact us to assist you further.

Can I choose to switch back to a physical Security Device if I don't like using Digital Secure Key?

Only customers who are unable to use Digital Secure Key can apply for a physical Security Device. You may contact us for further details.

Security Device

Contents

Getting your Security Device

What is a Security Device?

A Security Device is a small, portable electronic device, which generates random security codes for one-time use, required to log on and transact on Online Banking.

Your Security Device provides Online Banking users an additional layer of security to protect against fraudulent transactions. This requires you to:

  • Key in beneficiary-related information on the device for every transaction
  • Generate a unique security code on the device to authorise each transaction
Your Security Device is PIN-protected

Your Security Device is unique as it is PIN-protected. You will have to set a PIN during activation and this PIN will be required to unlock the device before each use.

What is a security code?

A security code is a single-use random number generated by the Security Device. The security code is to be used together with your username and password when accessing Online Banking. It will also be required for third party fund transfers, bill payments and updating of your details on Online Banking.

What is a serial number?

The serial number is a unique 10-digit number used to identify your individual Security Device. It is located at the back of your Security Device in the format of XX-XXXXXXX-X where X is a number (e.g. 12-3456789-0). This number also helps with identification in the case of multiple Security Devices in a household or company and should not be removed.

Are there any risks associated with the serial number on the Security Device being visible?

The serial number is used to identify which Security Device is associated with a specific customer and is only required for the activation process. There is no risk associated with the serial number being visible.

I have just registered for Online Banking, but do not have my Security Device yet. When will I receive my Security Device?

You can download the HSBC Singapore app and activate your Digital Secure Key immediately, allowing you to generate security codes and access the full range of online and mobile banking services.

If you have requested for a Security Device, please allow up to 5 working days (for Singapore mailing address), or up to 12 working days (for overseas mailing address) for it to be mailed to you.

Setting up your Security Device

I have just received my Security Device. How do I activate it?

Once you have registered for Online Banking and received the Security Device, follow below instructions to activate your Security Device.

  1. Log on to your Online Banking
  2. When prompted with the pop-up, scroll down and expand "Don't have compatible device" section.
  3. Click on "Activate now" and proceed to follow the onscreen instructions.
How do I turn on my new Security Device?

Please follow the steps below:

4 steps of instructions to turn on the new Security Device. Step 1: Press and hold the Green Button for 2 seconds to turn on the device. Step 2: Using keypad to enter PIN. "HSBC" will be displayed after that.
Why do I see a 'FAIL 1', 'FAIL 2' or 'FAIL 3' message on the device?

This is because the PIN entered is incorrect. Press the green button to re-enter your PIN. You will have a total of 3 attempts to enter a correct PIN before the device is locked.

Why do I need to set up a PIN for the new Security Device?

The HSBC Security Device is unique as it is PIN-protected. For added security, you will have to set a PIN during activation and this PIN will be required to unlock your device before use.

How many digits can I choose for the PIN?

You can only choose a 6-digit PIN for the new device.

How do I set up a new PIN?

Please follow the steps below:

Instructions on how to change the PIN for the device. Step 1: Press and hold the "Green Button" for 2 seconds to turn on your Security Device. Step 2: Enter a new PIN by using the keypad. Step 3: Press the Yellow Button to complete the first PIN entry. Step 4: Confirm the new PIN by re-entering it. "NEW PIN CONF" will be displayed for 2 seconds if the PIN input is successful.
What happens if my PIN setup is unsuccessful?

A message 'FAIL PIN' will be shown on the device, reflecting that your confirmation PIN did not match the first PIN entered. You will need to restart the PIN setup process by pressing the green button.

picture of security device with fail PIN message.
Why do I see a message 'NEW PIN NOT SAFE' on the device?

This means that the new PIN that you have entered is not safe and could be guessed, ie repeating or sequential numbers (eg 111111, 123456, 543210). Please restart the PIN setup process and choose another 6-digit PIN.

picture of security device with weak PIN message.
Why do I need to call customer service to activate my Security Device?

You are given up to 30 days to activate your Security Device. After this period, you need to call our customer service to activate your Security Device.

You can still logon to Online Banking using your username and your existing password in full as this is an alternative way of logging in to your Online Banking account. However, you are required to log in with your Security Device to access certain features.

Using your Security Device

How do I use my Security Device to log on?
Instructions on how to use the security device to log on. Instruction 1: Enter a digit PIN by using the keypad. Instruction 2: Press the Yellow Button to generate a security code. Instruction 3. Press the green button to turn on the device.
What should I do if I forget my PIN for the Security Device?

Please follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Online Banking logon page, enter your username and click "continue".
  2. Click ? above the security code field.
  3. Click "Forgotten your PIN" link.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions.
Instructions how to enter and generate a security code
How do I change my PIN for the device?

Please follow the steps below:

Instructions on how to change the PIN for the device. Step 1: Press and hold the "Green Button" for 2 seconds to turn on your Security Device. Step 2: Enter a new PIN by using the keypad. Step 3: Press the Yellow Button to complete the first PIN entry. Step 4: Confirm the new PIN by re-entering it. "NEW PIN CONF" will be displayed for 2 seconds if the PIN input is successful.
What should I do if I have entered a wrong number into my Security Device during the authorisation process?

If you have entered a wrong number into your Security Device, press the green button to backspace and delete your last entry. To clear your entire entry, press and hold the same green button.

What should I do if I am overseas and did not receive the SMS OTP for Security Device Activation?

An SMS OTP will be sent to the mobile number on our records in order to activate your Security Device. This mobile number will be partially masked on the SMS OTP verification page. Please ensure that this mobile number is correct and up to date. In case you need to update your mobile number, please visit an HSBC Branch or update via one of the ways below:

For customers with SingPass access, you can update your contact details at Personal contact details update using MyInfo (For Singpass users only).

For customers residing Singapore, please download the Update personal particulars and contact details form (PDF) and mail it to us using the Business Reply Envelope.

For customers residing overseas, please download the Update personal particulars and contact details form (overseas) (PDF) and mail it to us using the Business Reply Envelope.

How long will the battery of the Security Device last?

The Security Device is battery-powered with a lifespan between three to five years, depending on the frequency of the usage. You will be prompted with a "BATT#" message when the battery of your security  device is running low.

Do I have to provide replacement battery for my Security Device?

No, the battery in the Security Device cannot be replaced. Your Security Device will provide warning that the battery is running low on power. You will then need to contact us to get a replacement device.

Replacing or upgrading your Security Device

What should I do if my Security Device is lost or stolen?

You should inform us to de-activate your lost or stolen Security Device immediately.

For Personal Internet Banking Users, please call our 24-hour customer service hotline on 1800-HSBC NOW (4722 669) in Singapore or (65) 6-HSBC NOW (4722 669) from overseas.

What should I do if I want to replace my Security Device?

We encourage all customers to use the Digital Secure Key, which is available via the HSBC Singapore app. If you are unable to use the Digital Secure Key, you can request for a replacement Security Device by visiting a branch or contacting us.