主要内容顶部
一个亚洲女孩在街上使用智能手机;图片使用于汇丰新加坡9个旅行必备的外汇贴士文章

9个旅行必备的外汇贴士

不必在旅行时担心外汇问题。记住这9个外汇贴士,让您的旅行省钱又省心。

多做比较,选出合适的银行卡

在旅行时使用信用卡,可以带来很多便利,尤其是在缴付机票、住宿等大额账单时。如果您在旅行时选择信用卡是因为不喜欢携带大量现金,那么您也可以考虑使用提款卡,并在需要的时候提取现金。

许多人喜欢在海外购物时使用信用卡,以获得额外积分。然而,您需要同时了解外汇交易可能产生的费用。有些旅游卡虽然在境外交易时,提供吸引人的里程兑换,但却可能包含隐性费用,或往往汇率偏高,从而导致最终的消费远超预期。汇丰多币种借记卡为您提供优惠的汇率,且没有隐藏费用,让您在旅行时放心使用。如表格所示,当您使用多币种借记卡,不仅可以省下机票钱,还可能省下更多的钱购买纪念品。

使用多币种借记卡的费用优势说明

卡片类型 多币种借记卡 其他旅游卡
消费金额 18,000英镑
18,000英镑
外汇汇率 1.74991 1.81882
等值新币 新币31,499.08元 新币32,739.12元
优惠
节省新币1,240.04元 获取65,520里程(新币1元=2里程)
可兑换的奖赏 2张新加坡航空飞往东京的经济舱机票3 1张新加坡航空飞往香港的经济舱机票

使用多币种借记卡的费用优势说明

卡片类型 消费金额
多币种借记卡 18,000英镑
其他旅游卡 18,000英镑
卡片类型 外汇汇率
多币种借记卡 1.74991
其他旅游卡 1.81882
卡片类型 等值新币
多币种借记卡 新币31,499.08元
其他旅游卡 新币32,739.12元
卡片类型 优惠
多币种借记卡 节省新币1,240.04元
其他旅游卡 获取65,520里程(新币1元=2里程)
卡片类型 可兑换的奖赏
多币种借记卡 2张新加坡航空飞往东京的经济舱机票3
其他旅游卡 1张新加坡航空飞往香港的经济舱机票

​1截至2019年6月4日的指示性外汇汇率。

2相关发卡机构的平均汇率,附加2.5%的手续费。

3根据2019年6月在新加坡航空公司网站搜索得到的机票价格。

避免跨网络取款

当您使用当地自动提款机提现时,应确保它与您的发卡行处于同一网络。如果您使用了其他银行或网络的自动提款机,就需要承担更高的交易费。

为避免这种情况,您也可以考虑使用可支持9种外币的汇丰多币种账户。只需在出行前确保您的账户中存有当地货币,您就可以无需手续费手续费,享受线上线下购物,及从第三方自动提款机提取现金。

尽量使用当地货币付款

无论是使用提款卡还是信用卡,在可以选择使用本国货币或是当地货币支付时,请务必选择当地货币。相比您自己信用卡账单上的外汇汇率,当地商家使用的信用卡设备通常有着更高的外汇价差。同时,如果您不以当地货币付款,还可能错失海外消费的奖励积分。

当然也有无法使用信用卡交易的情况。比如,当您进行小额消费,或是在小商户进行大额消费时,您很可能需要使用现金付款。我们为您提供了一些建议,可以让您在海外消费时,享受最优汇率。

在银行营业时间兑换货币

在银行营业时间兑换货币,可以享受最佳汇率。其次是工作日晚上,最不理想的则是周末(星期五晚上至下个星期一上午),因为全世界的外汇市场在周末都处于休市状态。为什么周末是最不理想的换汇时间?这是因为银行无法确定星期一上午开市后的新汇率,所以通常在周末小幅提高汇率,以避免受到市场意外波动的影响。

务必了解隐形费用

许多外币兑换商店显示牌上的汇率很吸引人,但在兑换之前,请确保您已了解所有细节。例如,是否每笔交易都有佣金或手续费?该优惠汇率是否仅适用于特定面额或年份的钞票?或者是否需要兑换一定数额才能使用优惠汇率?

避开小店,尽量选择大品牌

当您需要兑换现金时,要选择规模较大的银行或货币兑换中心。小商铺通常现金储备较少,兑换价格较高。选择信誉良好的品牌或商铺进行外汇兑换,可以让您不必担心“缺斤少两”或换到假钞,自然更加安心。然而,规模大、客流量大的银行或兑换点虽是首选,但等候时间也可能较长。

我们建议:在线换汇

您一定体验过提前预订航班和酒店的便利。同样,您也可以提前购买外汇。通过我们的多币种账户,您可以随时兑换11种货币。只需登录您的账户,将您的本币兑换成其中一种外币,并在出行前,预约前往分行提取现金,简单方便。同时,您也可以选择在抵达目的地后,通过遍布的汇丰海外网络自动提款机,提取已兑换的外币。

使用外汇限价买卖,设置汇率提醒,获得最佳汇率

如果您不满意当天的汇率,没关系,您只需登录外汇限价买卖,并设置您可以接受的汇率。当汇率达到预设值,您就会收到提醒。您也可以设置想要兑换的金额,当达到您的预期汇率时,系统可以自动为您完成兑换。 

下载并使用汇丰QuickFX应用程序

汇丰QuickFX应用程序就像外汇限价买卖的手机应用版本,但添加了更多功能。除了追踪汇率,设置目标汇率提醒或自动兑换以外,您还可以通过QuickFX应用程序进行环球转账。所以,只需开通外币账户,你就可以在各账户间轻松转账。如果您在国外工作并准备回国,您可以通过简单的操作,快速将资金转到您本国的汇丰账户。

您可能会对以下内容有兴趣

一位女孩在使用笔记本电脑;图片使用于汇丰新加坡您不需要坐拥巨款才开始投资文章
 

投资并不是富有人群的专利。了解如何立即踏上投资之旅。

在手机和平​​板电脑上搜索投资产品的人;图片使用于汇丰新加坡自我掌握投资的五大理由页面。
 

管理投资其实比想象容易。

新加坡天际线;图片使用于汇丰新加坡外汇
 

我们能满足您的外汇需求,让您安心满意。

两个人在乘坐大象;图片使用于汇丰新加坡多币种账户
 

多达11种货币,满足您的交易需求。

9 essential foreign exchange travel tips

Don't let foreign exchange get you down when travelling. Just remember these 9 essential FX travel tips.

Compare which card best fits your needs

Credit cards offer some convenience when you travel, especially for settling large bills like tickets or accommodation. If you like to use a credit card when you travel because you don't like carrying large quantities of cash, perhaps you could also consider using your ATM card instead to withdraw cash when you need it.

Many people still use credit cards because of those extra points for overseas purchases, but do always check what fees may be applicable for foreign currency transactions. Some travel cards may offer attractive miles for overseas transactions, but impose hidden fees or tend to have a high foreign exchange rate, which would result in your final bill being much higher than expected. Everyday Global Debit Card has a competitive exchange rate, and offers you a peace of mind without any other hidden fees. As our table shows, if you use your Everyday Global Debit Card, you'll save enough money to pay for your flight and still have some left for souvenirs.

Cost benefit illustration of using the Everyday Global Debit card
Types of Cards Everyday Global Debit Card Other Travel Cards
Spend Amount £18,000
£18,000
Foreign Exchange Rate 1.74991 1.81882
SGD Equivalent S$31,499.08 S$32,739.12
Benefits Savings of S$1,240.04 65,520 miles earned (S$1 = 2 miles)
What can this get you? 2 Economy class air tickets to Tokyo with Singapore Airlines3 1 economy class air ticket to Hong Kong with Singapore Airlines
Cost benefit illustration of using the Everyday Global Debit card
Types of Cards Spend Amount
Everyday Global Debit Card £18,000
Other Travel Cards £18,000
Types of Cards Foreign Exchange Rate
Everyday Global Debit Card 1.74991
Other Travel Cards 1.81882
Types of Cards SGD Equivalent
Everyday Global Debit Card S$31,499.08
Other Travel Cards S$32,739.12
Types of Cards Benefits
Everyday Global Debit Card Savings of S$1,240.04
Other Travel Cards 65,520 miles earned (S$1 = 2 miles)
Types of Cards What can this get you?
Everyday Global Debit Card 2 Economy class air tickets to Tokyo with Singapore Airlines3
Other Travel Cards 1 economy class air ticket to Hong Kong with Singapore Airlines

1Indicative foreign exchange rate as of 4 June 2019.

2Average exchange rate from relevant card scheme associations, with 2.5% administration fee applied.

3Based on prices retrieved from Singapore Airlines website, June 2019.

Stay in your network

If you use a local ATM to take out cash, make sure it’s one that's in your bank's network. If you use an ATM from a different bank or a different network, you will be charged a substantially higher transaction fee. 

You can also avoid this if you have the HSBC Everyday Global Account, which can handle 9 foreign currencies. Just make sure you have some of the local currency in your account before you go, and you can use your card for retail purchases, online shopping and cash withdrawals with zero fees – even for withdrawals from third-party ATM networks.

Pay in local currency when you've got the option

Whether using an ATM card or a credit card, if you get the option of paying in your home currency or the local currency, always choose local. The merchant’s bank or credit card device usually has a much wider FX spread, compared to your own credit card company making the exchange on your statement. You might also miss out on reward points for overseas spending if you don’t pay in the local currency.

Though there are times when you won’t be able to use a card. For small purchases, or for big purchases from small businesses, you might have to use cash. Here are some tips to make sure you always get the best rates.

Exchange currency during bank hours

You’ll get the best rates when you exchange currency during bank hours. Weekday evenings are ok, but the worst time to exchange is on the weekends, starting from Friday night to Monday morning, because markets around the world are closed. Why are weekends the worst time? Since banks don’t know what the new rate will be on Monday morning, they charge a slightly higher rate to protect themselves against unforeseen market movements when the market re-opens.

Always look for hidden fees

Many currency exchange shops advertise a fantastic rate on the board out front. But before you hand over your cash, make sure you get all the details. Do they have a commission or a charge for each transaction? Is that good rate only applicable to notes of a certain denomination or year? Or is there a certain amount you'll have to convert to get that rate?

Go with the bigger brands over smaller shops

If you’re going to a bank or a currency exchange centre, choose a big one. Smaller shops often have fewer notes in stock, so they’ll charge a premium for exchanging. Choosing a reputable brand for your FX needs will also give you the security that you won’t get shortchanged or cheated with counterfeit notes. A big, busy venue with more turnover is a better option, but that might mean you’re in for a long queue.

Recommended option: Buy your currency online

You probably pre-ordered your flight and your hotel booking, so why not enjoy the same convenience and pre-order your foreign currency? All you need is an Everyday Global Account and you'll get anytime access to 11 currencies. Log on to your account and convert your local funds to one of the other foreign currencies, then pick up the cash at the branch before your trip – simple and fuss-free. Or you have the option of withdrawing the converted currency from one of the many ATMs of HSBC’s overseas network.

Use Order Watch to set an alert and get the best rate

Not happy with today’s exchange rate? No problem. Log on to Order Watch and set the exchange rate you’re comfortable with. If and when the rate reaches that level, you'll get an alert. Or you can just set aside the amount you want to exchange, and we’ll make the exchange when the rate matches your selection. 

Download (and use) the HSBC QuickFX app

HSBC QuickFX is like the mobile app version of Order Watch, with a few extra features. You can track exchange rates, and set alerts or auto-exchanges for when the rate meets your target. QuickFX also allows you to do Global Transfers. So if you have foreign currency accounts all set up, you can easily move money between them. And if you are a expat travelling home, you can easily transfer to your HSBC home account instantly.

You may be interested in

A girl is using her laptop; image used for HSBC Singapore You Don't Need a Fortune to Start investing article
 

It's not just for the rich. See how you can begin your journey today.

The Singapore skyline; image used for HSBC Singapore Foreign Exchange
 

Rejoice in knowing that your FX needs are taken care of.

Two people are riding an elephant; image used for HSBC Singapore Everyday Global Account
 

Meet your transactional needs in up to 11 different currencies. 

A woman is using her phone on a sofa; image used for HSBC Singapore FX Order Watch
 

Set your own target FX rate to convert funds automatically. Plus, get alerts when your designated FX rate is reached.