主要内容顶部

基本面与技术分析,在投资时应采用哪一个分析策略?

当需要做关于投资哪些股票/哪家公司的决定时,您可能会考虑应采用基本面或技术分析策略作投资评估。

两个分析策略各有千秋,因此没有人可以明确表示两者哪个更为优秀。不过,您可以通过了解这两个策略背后的基本原理和利弊,做出明智的投资决策。

基本面分析

基本面分析是通过全方位衡量公司或股票的内在价值的方法,并会从该公司的财务实力和管理状况进行全面的研究,即公司的资产、负债和管理状态均会被纳入基本面分析,另外还涉及需要评估宏观经济的整体状况。

基本面分析假设:如果目前某个股价被高估/低估,最终它也会回到符合其基本条件的正常水平上,因此成为众多长期投资者所喜爱的投资策略之一。

优点:

  1. 基本面分析是基于定量的基本面数据,因此在一定程度上撇除了个人主观偏见。

  2. 除了深入研究其公司的财务状况外,基本面分析还考虑到宏观经济因素,从而提供较全面的分析,让投资者做出更好的决策。

  3. 使投资者对打算投资的公司/股票的行业有更全面的了解。例如,若决定买入新加坡电信股,投资者会花时间对电信行业进行研究和基本面分析。

  4. 由于基本面需进行一个较周全的分析,这可能有助于在审视公司财务报表时发现任何潜在问题,从而揭示或预测该公司任何潜在状况,让投资者免于蒙受投资损失。

缺点:

  1. 基本面分析的最大缺点是耗时。在投资前除了应先分析股票外,您还需要定期审视该公司的所有财务数据。另外,您还须追踪所有其他经济趋势和相关行业事件及情况,因为任何负面消息均可导致股价下跌。

  2. 要进行周全的基本面分析需具备良好的基础知识,这有助于分析您现有的数据表现。万事开头难,但如长时间加以练习,即可培养和提升这方面的敏锐度。

  3. 基本面分析撇除羊群效应和市场情绪的影响,即便两者均为引起牛市或熊市的重要因素。如果您在错误的时间投资在基本面较强劲的股票,您可能需要较长时间持有才有可观回报。

技术分析

有别于基本面分析,技术分析是以股票价格图表和/或成交量为基础,并通过查看以往的历史价格来预测股票未来走势。

技术分析的核心假设为所有已知基本面均以价格计算,对于技术分析师和交易员而言,他们更重视了解接下来的1小时、1天或1星期的股价走势。在大部分的情况下,短期投资者或我们通称为日内交易者较常采用技术分析策略。

优点:

  1. 历史往往会重演,正如市场周期和走势一样。查看其模式可为您提供适当的信号/突破点的信息,进一步助您在投资中获利。

  2. 与基本面分析相比,技术分析通常无需做大量数据分析和研究。交易者通常较倾向使用这种策略做短线交易,而不是长期投资。

  3. 技术分析涉及人为分析,让您更好地看清和捕捉数据外的投资机会。例如,最近您可能看到有一只股票进入了熊市周期,但由于您已追踪其历史表现并预计会回升,于是您决定继续持有它。

缺点:

  1. 技术分析通过比对不同股票走势作为投资决策的指标,从而帮您做出买入或卖出的决定。但若无法从股票历史数据中及时做出相对应决策,或可能导致您错失投资机会。

  2. 交易者有时可能会使用2个不同的指标去做出投资策略。不过,不同的指标也许会得出相互矛盾的结果并造成混乱。因此,在采取最终决策前,考虑指标以外的其他因素尤其重要。

  3. 因为技术分析涉及人为分析,所以可能会因个人对该股票的偏见,从而影响其投资和交易决策。

哪一个分析策略才适合您?

当您初步了解以上基本面和技术分析的利弊后,我们希望您能选出更适合您的投资决策,以满足您的交易和投资需求及目标。

总体来说:基本面分析告诉我们应投资在哪个方面上,而技术分析则可以指出进入(或退出)市场的最佳时间。虽然两者均获得不同支持者的亲身验证,但依旧很难判定哪一个才是最合适的分析策略。两全其美的做法是,根据您的投资目标和时间范围,将这两种分析策略结合起来使用,优势互补,更好地达至您的投资目标。

即刻通过汇丰新加坡手机银行或网上银行申请汇丰权益投资账户。

Top of main content

Fundamental vs technical analysis: which strategy should you use when investing?

As you make important decisions on which stocks or companies to invest your money on, you'll come across the choice of whether to use fundamental analysis or technical analysis in your investment evaluations.

No one can say for certain which technique is better, since they each have their own merits. But a good place to start would be to learn more about how both strategies work, as well as their pros and cons.

Fundamental analysis

Fundamental analysis is a method of evaluating all the components that make up a company or stock to determine its intrinsic value. This method will take into consideration the financial and management conditions of the company. This means a company's assets, liabilities and management will all be factored in with a fundamental analysis. In addition, you would also evaluate the overall condition of the wider economy.

Fundamental analysis assumes that a particular stock price will return to the right level in line with its fundamental conditions if it is currently over- or under-priced. This technique is most preferred by long-term investors.

Pros:

  1. Fundamental analysis is based on fundamental data that is quantitative in nature, so it mostly eliminates personal biases.

  2. Besides unearthing the financial numbers of a company, macroeconomic factors are also taken into consideration, giving you a comprehensive analysis to help make better decisions.

  3. You'll gain a good understanding of the industry of the company/stock you plan to invest in. For example, investors will conduct research on the telecommunication industry if they decide to invest in Singtel.

  4. As fundamental analysis is very comprehensive in nature, it may help potentially detect any red flags within a company's financial statements. These will come in handy in revealing or predicting any potential problems in the company and could save you from possible investment losses.

Cons:

  1. The biggest drawback of fundamental analysis is that it is time-consuming. Beyond analysing the stock prior to investing, you'd also need to monitor all of a company's financial data periodically. Additionally, you'll have to keep track of all other economic trends, and related industry events and situations, because any negative news could cause an unexpected decline in stock prices.

  2. To perform fundamental analysis well would require a good level of knowledge that will help with interpreting the data you've got at hand. Of course, this acumen can be improved with more practice over time.

  3. Herd mentality and human emotions are not taken into account, even though they are important factors impacting bull or bear runs in the market. This means if you invest in a fundamentally strong stock at the wrong time, you may have to hold on to it for a longer period in order to see returns.

Technical analysis

On the other hand, technical analysis is anchored in stock price charts and/or volume data, using previous price history to predict future price movements of a stock.

The core assumption of technical analysis is that all fundamental conditions are already factored into the price history. Technical analysts and traders will place more emphasis on knowing stock price movements in the next hour, day, or week. Mostly, short-term investors or who we typically term day traders rely on the technical analysis strategy more.

Pros:

  1. History tends to repeat itself and this applies to market cycles and movements too. Looking into patterns might just give you information on appropriate signals/breakout points to earn profit on your investment.

  2. Technical analysis usually requires much less data and research than fundamental analysis. Traders will typically be keen to use this method to trade in stocks (short term) rather than to invest for the long term.

  3. Technical analysis contains the element of human interpretation in the equation, which helps you see beyond the math to identify good investment opportunities. For instance, you may see a stock has been having a recent bear run, but since you've tracked its historical performance and expect a recovery to take place, you might decide to continue holding on to it.

Cons:

  1. Technical analysis involves using different patterns as indicators for your investment decisions. These indicators will help point you towards a buy or a sell decision, but any delay in response to analyse the historical performance of a stock sometimes puts you at a disadvantage in capturing the movement.

  2. Traders may sometimes use 2 different indicators as part of their investment strategy. The flip side of this is the indicators may derive contradictory results and create confusion instead. That's why it's important to consider other factors beyond the indicators before making a final decision.

  3. Technical analysis involves human interpretation, so it's subject to an individual's bias about a given stock and this could potentially affect investment and trading decisions.

Which strategy is the right fit for you?

Now that we've gone through some pros and cons of both fundamental and technical analysis, you should be better equipped to decide which strategy works better for your investment and trading needs and goals.

A good way to sum all this up is this: fundamental analysis tells us where to invest, while technical analysis indicates the best time to enter (or exit) the market. Supporters of both camps will have their fair share of proven results, but it's hard to say for sure which strategy is ultimately better. Depending on your investment goals and time horizon, the best idea would probably be to combine the 2 techniques and use them together to get the best of both worlds.

Sign up instantly for an HSBC Equity Investment account via the HSBC Singapore app or HSBC Online Banking.