主要内容顶部

常见问题

一般问题

债券是什么?

政府和企业为了融资,会发售债券来筹集资金。购买债券通常是长期投资,期限最长可达30年,但最常见的投资期限是5至10年。许多基金管理人会购买债券,减少单位信托基金的波动。

发售债券是借贷的一种方式,借方(例如政府或企业)为了在金融市场筹集资金,就会发售这种证券。债券又称为“定息证券”,因为大部分的债券会在整个债券的期限(或称到期期限)内定期派息。这种利息也称为“息票”,它的利率是用本金(即债券的面值)的百分比来计算的,而债券价格通常是以面值的百分比来表示。到期时,发行人将按面值赎回债券,并向债券持有人归还债券面值的全额。

有一些债券不支付任何利息,因此这类债券也称为“无息债券”,其发行价会低于面值。到期时,您将会收到面值的全额(已包含债券的应计利息)。

债券的收益主要取决于债券发行人的信用评级,在全球各地的市场,评级最高的债券通常由政府发售,然后是等同政府或政府关联实体,再来是银行,之后是企业。

利率和债券价格之间有什么关系?

一般而言,债券价格与利率的走向是相反的。利率上扬,债券的价格通常会下跌。价格之所以调整,是因为票息低于可比较的市场利率,于是买方获得补偿。相反地,如果利率下滑,由于买方获得的票息高于可比较的市场利率,因此债券价格会上涨。投资者在利率上升的时候售出债券,就会因为债券价值低于他们起初购买的价格,而遭遇亏损。但与此同时,若投资者坚持不把债券卖掉,则会因无法将该笔资金转投在收益更高的地方,而失去获得更高收益的机会。

如果投资者一直持有债券,而发行人也没有违约,市场价格的波动对投资者来说可能没有太大影响。因为他们会在债券整个有效期内继续收取利息,到期后也可以收回本金。但如果您投资债券基金,利率波动就可能会影响投资价值。因为利率波动会影响债券基金的资产净值,从而影响赎回单位的价格。

为什么要投资债券?

如果投资者想获得稳定的收入或分散投资,债券可能是不错的选择。分散投资有利于减少资产过于集中在相似的资产类别,减轻风险。债券价值走向通常未必跟其他资产一样,也未必和它们有相同的升跌波幅。因此在投资组合中添加债券,虽然未必能取得最高收益,但同时可以减少部分风险。比如说,股价的利空消息,可能对债券而言反而是利好消息。

汇丰设有哪些种类的债券?

汇丰的债券可分为以下几类:

  • 按发行人类型分类:公司债券、超国家组织债券和政府/等同政府债券​
  • 固定利率债券、浮动利率息票债券
  • 不同货币的债券:美元、澳元、加元、离岸人民币、欧元、英镑、新西兰元和新币

汇丰提供各类投资级债券及一系列高收益债券,期限最长可达30年。

投资需要哪些条件?

需要满足的基本条件如下:

  • 卓越理财客户。
  • 合格投资者。
  • 若有必要,须通过客户账户评估(CAR)。
  • 如果您是首次在汇丰投资债券,请联系客户经理完成目标规划,并确认自己理解风险揭示书(Risk Warning Statement)的内容。
  • 某些债券可能还附带其他条件。要了解详情,请联络您的客户经理。
  • 请注意,此产品不提供予美国公民/居民、加拿大居民和沙特阿拉伯居民。

如何在汇丰买卖债券?

如果已开立汇丰投资服务/证券账户,请直接联络您的客户经理买卖。我们的分行也提供债券交易服务。若想开设投资服务/证券账户,请亲临汇丰新加坡的任何一家分行。

我是否必须持有债券直至到期为止?

不,您可以在债券到期之前出售。而且如果出售时的价格高于当初买入时的价格,您可以获得资本增值。在正常市场下,汇丰会视乎债券的流通量,按当前市场价格回购债券。但根据市场情况变化,汇丰买入的价格可能会跟您当初买入的价格不同。

投资债券有哪些风险?

投资债券的风险。

风险
意思
违约(或信用风险)
债券是一种债务,债券价格受到发行人的信用品质以及违约的可能性影响。当发行人违约时,您可能会损失全部或一大部分投资。
赎回风险
有些债券具有可赎回的特性,即发行人有权在债券到期前回购债券。如果发行人赎回债券时的现行利率,低于您买入的利率,您将面临再投资风险。
价格风险和利率风险
债券价格与利率的走向是相反的,利率上扬,债券的价格通常会下跌。如果利率下滑,买家会支付更高的价格来获得高于现行市场利率的息票。
再投资风险
在利率下降的环境下,投资者可能要将收入和本金以较低的现行利率进行再投资。
外汇风险
如果投资者买卖与自己所持币种不同的外币债券,当货币出现不利的波动时,投资者可能会面临风险。
流动性风险
部分债券的流动性可能较低,如果投资者大量买入并持有某一特定债券,就可能会发生这种情况。这样买家和卖家都会较少,这可能会加大购买或出售债券的难度。即使债券上市或在交易所进行交易,也无法确定是否能发展出流动性佳的二级市场。
通胀风险
当通胀率高于债券息票利率时,就会出现这种风险。由于通胀会使债券的息票和本金的购买力下降,这种风险将侵蚀您的投资价值。
事件风险
这一风险通常会在招股说明书中描述,它涵盖可能削弱发行者信用实力和偿债能力的意外事件,例如自然灾害、收购及重组。
市场风险
债券价格会随着市场情况的变化而波动,包括​​供求和利率变化。

投资债券的风险。

风险
违约(或信用风险)
意思
债券是一种债务,债券价格受到发行人的信用品质以及违约的可能性影响。当发行人违约时,您可能会损失全部或一大部分投资。
风险
赎回风险
意思
有些债券具有可赎回的特性,即发行人有权在债券到期前回购债券。如果发行人赎回债券时的现行利率,低于您买入的利率,您将面临再投资风险。
风险
价格风险和利率风险
意思
债券价格与利率的走向是相反的,利率上扬,债券的价格通常会下跌。如果利率下滑,买家会支付更高的价格来获得高于现行市场利率的息票。
风险
再投资风险
意思
在利率下降的环境下,投资者可能要将收入和本金以较低的现行利率进行再投资。
风险
外汇风险
意思
如果投资者买卖与自己所持币种不同的外币债券,当货币出现不利的波动时,投资者可能会面临风险。
风险
流动性风险
意思
部分债券的流动性可能较低,如果投资者大量买入并持有某一特定债券,就可能会发生这种情况。这样买家和卖家都会较少,这可能会加大购买或出售债券的难度。即使债券上市或在交易所进行交易,也无法确定是否能发展出流动性佳的二级市场。
风险
通胀风险
意思
当通胀率高于债券息票利率时,就会出现这种风险。由于通胀会使债券的息票和本金的购买力下降,这种风险将侵蚀您的投资价值。
风险
事件风险
意思
这一风险通常会在招股说明书中描述,它涵盖可能削弱发行者信用实力和偿债能力的意外事件,例如自然灾害、收购及重组。
风险
市场风险
意思
债券价格会随着市场情况的变化而波动,包括​​供求和利率变化。

在境外上市的产品有哪些风险?

除上述的风险之外,由于境内外法律和监管制度有所差异,投资境外上市的产品还需承受更多风险。比如说,境外市场的信息披露标准和对投资者的保障有可能会不同。

投资者可能承受外汇波动的风险,还有可能要缴纳相关税费。您必须知道境外国家/地区的政治、经济和社会因素都会应影响当地市场,从而影响到您的投资。产品上市的所在地区,司法管制皆不相同,因此应承受的风险大小也有差异。

必须缴交的费用有哪些?

目前,汇丰不征收每月托管费,但我们保留改变这项政策的权利。若我们要征收任何费用或手续费,我们将会在至少30天前通知客户。把债券转移到汇丰没有手续费,但是将债券转出汇丰,将收取每张债券100美元的费用(不包括GST消费税)。如果债券是转移给中央证券存管(CDP),该机构另有收费。

银行是否会定期向我提供债券投资的对账单?

您可以随时登录汇丰网上银行,通过财富概览查看您的持仓。

General

What are bonds?

Bonds are issued by governments and companies in order to raise money. Bonds are usually seen as a long-term investment and can have terms of up to 30 years, although five to 10 years is the normal investment period. Many fund managers use bonds as a stable element in unit trust products.

Bonds are a form of borrowing. They are debt securities issued by borrowers such as governments or companies seeking to raise funds from the financial markets. They are also known as fixed income securities because most bonds pay a steady stream of interest income at periodic intervals throughout the life (also known as the term or tenure) of the bond. This interest is known as the "coupon" and the coupon rate is expressed as a percentage of the principal, known as the "face" or "par" value of the bond. Bond prices are usually expressed as a percentage of face value. Upon maturity, bonds are redeemed at face value and bondholders are paid 100% of face value.

Some bonds do not offer coupons at all - these are known as "zero-coupon bonds" and are priced at a discount to their face value. At maturity, you will receive the face value (which includes the accrued interest on the note).

The yield on a bond depends primarily on the credit quality of the bond issuer. In any local market, the highest quality bonds are usually government bonds. They are usually followed by quasi-government or government linked entities, banks and then companies.

What is the relationship between Interest rates and Bond prices?

Generally, bond prices are inversely related to interest rate movements. A rise in interest rates could see a fall in bond prices. The price adjustment compensates the buyer for the coupon which is lower than comparable market rates. Similarly, if rates fall, the buyer pays a higher price for receiving a coupon that is higher than comparable market rates. Investors who choose to sell their bonds in a rising interest rate environment will suffer a capital loss if bond values are now below the price they paid. On the other hand, if investors continue holding the bond, they will incur opportunity cost as their funds could have been invested in higher yielding instruments.

Market price fluctuations may not matter as much for investors who buy and hold as they will receive interest throughout the life of the bond and principal at maturity, provided there is no issuer default. Investors in bond funds, on the other hand, may be affected by interest rate movements as these will have impact on the funds' net asset value and hence the price at which investors can redeem their units.

Why invest in bonds?

Bonds may be attractive for investors who want a source of regular income or to diversify their portfolio of investment assets. A diversified portfolio helps to reduce the risks caused by a concentration of similar assets. By including assets whose values do not always move in the same direction or by the same degree as other assets in the portfolio, you may give up some gains but also reduce some losses in your portfolio. For example, certain market conditions which do not support the price of shares, may actually be positive for bonds.

What types of bond are available through HSBC?

Bonds from HSBC can be categorised by:

  • Types of issuers: - Corporate bonds, supranational bonds and government/quasi-government bonds
  • Fixed rate bonds, floating rate coupon bonds
  • Available in multiple currencies:- USD, AUD, CAD, CNH, EUR, GBP, NZD and SGD

HSBC offers you a wide selection of investment grade and selective range of high-yield bonds with tenors of up to 30 years.

What are the pre-requisite for investing?

Some of the basic criteria are listed below:

  • Premier customers.
  • Accredited investors.
  • Passing the Customer Account Review (CAR), where applicable.
  • If this is your first time investing in bonds with HSBC, you would be required to contact your Relationship Manager to do a Goal Planner Journey and where applicable acknowledge a Risk Warning Statement.
  • However, some bonds have additional criteria; please check with your RM to ascertain how you might meet them.
  • Please note that this product is not eligible for US citizens/residents, Canadian residents and Saudi Arabian residents.

How can I trade bonds with HSBC?

If you already have an HSBC Investment Services/Securities account, you can simply contact your Relationship Manager to execute your bond order. We also offer bond trading services through our branches. To open an Investment Services/Securities account, simply visit any HSBC branch in Singapore.

Do I have to hold bonds until maturity?

No. You can sell your bond before it matures and benefit from capital appreciation if the selling price is higher than the original buying price. Under normal market circumstances, HSBC will repurchase bonds at the prevailing market price, subject to the liquidity of the bond. However, the buying price offered by HSBC may differ from the original selling price due to changes in market conditions.

What are the risks in Bonds?

Risks in investing bonds.
Risk
What this means
Default (or credit risk)
Bonds are forms of debt, so bond prices will be affected by the perceived credit quality or probability of default of the bond issuer. When an issuer defaults, you may lose all or a substantial part of your investment.
Call risks
Some bonds have a callable feature which gives the issuer an option to buy back (redeem) the bond before its maturity date. If a bond is called when prevailing interest rates are lower than at the time you bought it, you will be exposed to reinvestment risks.
Price risk and interest rate risk
Bond prices are inversely affected by interest rate movements. A rise in interest rates could see a fall in bond prices. If interest rates fall, buyers pay a higher price to receive a coupon that is higher than the prevailing market rates.
Reinvestment risk
In an environment of declining interest rates, investors may have to reinvest the income received and any return of principal at lower prevailing rates.
Exchange risk
Investing in bonds denominated in foreign currencies exposes the investor to the risks of adverse currency movements if the investor's own currency base is different.
Liquidity risk
Some bonds are less liquid than others. This may happen if the investors of a particular bond issue are largely buying to hold, so there are fewer buyers and sellers. This may make it harder to buy or sell the bonds. Even in cases where the bonds are listed or traded on an exchange, there is no certainty that a liquid secondary market will develop.
Inflation risk
This arises when the rate of inflation is higher than the bond's coupon rate. This will erode the value of your investment as the purchasing power of the bonds' coupons and principal falls.
Event risk
This is usually described in the prospectus. It can cover events that can unexpectedly erode an issuer's credit strength and ability to make good on its debt payments, for example, natural disasters, takeovers, and restructurings.
Market risk
A bond's price will fluctuate with changing market conditions, including the forces of supply and demand and interest rate changes.
Risks in investing bonds.
Risk
Default (or credit risk)
What this means
Bonds are forms of debt, so bond prices will be affected by the perceived credit quality or probability of default of the bond issuer. When an issuer defaults, you may lose all or a substantial part of your investment.
Risk
Call risks
What this means
Some bonds have a callable feature which gives the issuer an option to buy back (redeem) the bond before its maturity date. If a bond is called when prevailing interest rates are lower than at the time you bought it, you will be exposed to reinvestment risks.
Risk
Price risk and interest rate risk
What this means
Bond prices are inversely affected by interest rate movements. A rise in interest rates could see a fall in bond prices. If interest rates fall, buyers pay a higher price to receive a coupon that is higher than the prevailing market rates.
Risk
Reinvestment risk
What this means
In an environment of declining interest rates, investors may have to reinvest the income received and any return of principal at lower prevailing rates.
Risk
Exchange risk
What this means
Investing in bonds denominated in foreign currencies exposes the investor to the risks of adverse currency movements if the investor's own currency base is different.
Risk
Liquidity risk
What this means
Some bonds are less liquid than others. This may happen if the investors of a particular bond issue are largely buying to hold, so there are fewer buyers and sellers. This may make it harder to buy or sell the bonds. Even in cases where the bonds are listed or traded on an exchange, there is no certainty that a liquid secondary market will develop.
Risk
Inflation risk
What this means
This arises when the rate of inflation is higher than the bond's coupon rate. This will erode the value of your investment as the purchasing power of the bonds' coupons and principal falls.
Risk
Event risk
What this means
This is usually described in the prospectus. It can cover events that can unexpectedly erode an issuer's credit strength and ability to make good on its debt payments, for example, natural disasters, takeovers, and restructurings.
Risk
Market risk
What this means
A bond's price will fluctuate with changing market conditions, including the forces of supply and demand and interest rate changes.

What are the risks of foreign listed products?

In addition to the above risks, foreign listed products expose you to additional potential risks due to legal and regulatory differences between the foreign regime and the local regime. For example, there may be differing disclosure standards and investor protection.

Foreign exchange risk and tax liabilities may also be present. You should be aware that political, economic and social factors in the foreign country may influence the domestic market and impact the value of the investment. The extent of risks will also differ depending on the jurisdiction in which the foreign product is listed.

What are some of the charges involved?

Currently, HSBC absorbs the monthly custody fees but reserves the rights to make any changes to said fees. Customers will be informed at least 30 calendar days prior to any implementation of fees or charges. There will also be no transfer-in fees. However, there will be a transfer-out fee of USD 100 (GST charges may apply) per bond in addition to CDP charges (if transfers are made to CDP).

Will the bank provide me with regular statements of my bond investments?

You can get a snapshot of your holdings on your Wealth Dashboard via HSBC Online Banking.