主要内容顶部

如何运用定量分析选择股票

什么是定量股票分析法?所谓的定量分析就是通过分析一间公司的财务报表数据,计算出一组财务指标来比较股票。这种量化投资分析法有几个好处。 首先是定量分析非常有效,因为数字不会撒谎或有任何偏见。此外这种方法简单直接,任何人都能够看懂这些指标,而且出错的机会较低。进行定量分析并不难,您可以很容易找到上市公司的财务数据,即使是投资新手也能轻易掌握这种技巧。

上市公司的财务数据通常都会在网上公开,所以定量分析成为广受投资分析师和一般投资者欢迎的分析方法。

以下我们会深入探讨定量分析,并分享用于这种分法的4个常见指标:

  • 市盈率

  • 同业比较

  • 收入增长

  • 收入增长

市盈率

一家公司的市价盈利比率(简称市盈率)代表投资者愿意支付多少钱购买公司的每股收益。例如一家公司的市盈率为7倍,就代表投资者愿意为这家公司每新币1元的收益付出新币7元。

以下是用来计算公司市盈率的基本公式:

市盈率 = 目前股价 ÷ 每股收益

一般而言,拥有高市盈率的公司可能有较高增长潜力,而拥有低市盈率则可能代表市场预期该公司增长较慢。当然,这并非必然定律。

如果您打算从市场购入某家公司的股票,最好先将该公司的市盈率与同一行业其他公司作比较。如果一家公司的市盈率高于行业平均,与市盈率较低的公司相比,这家公司的股票就可能显得较为昂贵。

简而言之,公司的市盈率较高,代表其股价相对收益而言较高,市场可能高估其股价。相反,公司的市盈率较低,则代表其目前股价相对收益而言较低。

同业比较

同业比较即是将同一行业中几家规模相似的公司作比较,以找出各家公司的合理价值。

举例说,如果您想知道Singtel股票的表现,最好是将这家公司与同为电信公司的竞争对手,如StarHub和M1作比较。

进行同业比较分析时,您可以选择几个相关的估值指标,例如市盈率、税前息前摊销前利润(EBITA)和市销率或其他比率,以比对各家公司的表现。 这样有助您了解哪家公司有更好的运营成绩和更大的增长潜力,从而获得更全面的定量分析结果。

收入增长

收入可能是一家公司最重要的财务指标。分析公司的收入增长(或减少)时,您需要比较公司过去与当前时期的收入。请紧记选择相同长度的时期作比较,以确保分析准确。以下是计算公司收入增长的公式,并换算为百分比表示:

收入增长 =(本期收入 - 上期收入)÷ 上期收入 x 100%

那么什么百分比才算是良好的收入增长?对于一家公司来说多少的增长最为理想?这可能因公司而异,并受到行业和其他经济因素影响。一般来说,年增长率持续数年达到10%可算是非常好的表现。根据Bain & Company研究,全球大约只有10%的公司能够持续10年保持至少5.5%的年收入及盈利增长,同时还能收回资本成本。

毛利率

毛利率即公司毛利对比销售额的百分比。这个比率显示了扣除销售成本(COGS)后公司还有多少利润。计算公式如下:

毛利率 =(净销售额 - COGS)÷ 净销售额

一般来说,一家公司的毛利率越高,代表他们的表现越好。毛利率较高说明公司在销售成本的管理上做得比较好,因此有更多资金用于运营、融资和其他成本上。

毛利率可以帮助您了解一家公司的成本效率,并追踪公司在一段时间内的表现,还可以帮助您评估公司的整体财务状况,有助您进行同业比较。

为什么您应该采用定量分析法?

分析股票的方法有很多,例如基本分析和技术分析等,但都不及定量分析流行。这是因为大多数上市公司过去和最新的财务资料都是公开的,只需花一点时间,即使是投资初学者也可以轻易使用这种方法分析股票,作出合适的投资决定。此外,只要找到分析时期或投资期内的可靠数据,您就可以将定量分析用于各种行业,是一种十分实用的分析方法。

Top of main content

Valuating a stock using quantitative analysis

What is quantitative stock analysis? It's a technique that involves looking through the numbers of a company from their financial statements and using that information to generate a set of financial metrics. Why would you use quantitative methods for investment analysis? For starters, quantitative analysis is very effective as numbers don't lie or display any biases. It's straightforward too - anyone can interpret those metrics and it's less susceptible to error. Quantitative analysis isn't difficult to carry out as financial data is readily available, so this technique should provide a good fit even if you're relatively new to investing.

Since this financial data is readily available online to the general public, quantitative analysis has become a widely used technique among analysts and investors.

Let's do a deeper dive here and explore 4 popular metrics you can use with your quantitative analysis:

  • Profit-to-earnings ratio (P/E ratio)

  • Peer-to-peer comparison of companies

  • Revenue growth

  • Gross profit margins

P/E ratio

A profit-to-earnings ratio, or P/E ratio, is basically the amount an investor is willing to pay for a company's share relative to its earnings. For example, a company with a P/E ratio of 7 means that investors are willing to pay SGD7 for every dollar of its earnings.

This is the basic formula used to calculate a company's P/E ratio:

P/E ratio  = Current share price ÷ earnings per share

A high P/E ratio may suggest the company has high growth potential, whereas a low ratio would indicate that the growth of this company is expected to be slow. But of course, this isn't a hard and fast rule.

It's always a good idea to compare the P/E ratio of a company to other companies in the same sector if you're considering purchasing the counter. The stock of a company with a P/E ratio above the industry average might be considered expensive compared to the ones with lower P/E ratios.

In short, a high P/E ratio could mean that a company's stock price is high compared to its earnings, meaning it is possibly overvalued. On the other hand, a low P/E ratio may suggest the company's current stock price is low relative to its earnings.

Peer-to-peer comparison of companies

Peer-to-peer comparison of companies enables you to compare different companies in the same industry that are a similar size, in order to derive a fair value for them.

For instance, if you wish to see how Singtel stock performs, it's best to compare it with other similar competitors in the same industry, such as StarHub and M1.

To perform a peer-to-peer comparison, you can choose several relevant valuation metrics, such as, the P/E ratio, earnings before interest, taxes, and amortization (EBITA), and the price-to-sales ratio (P/S ratio) or other ratios to see how they've performed against each other. Be sure to record your observations of which company has a better operational performance and greater potential for future growth, so you can factor that into your quantitative analysis for a more holistic view.

Revenue growth

Revenue is perhaps the most important number in a company's financial accounts. When analysing a company's revenue growth (or decline), you'd need to compare the previous period's revenue with the current period's revenue. Each time period you're measuring should be of equal length so your analysis is accurate. Here's the formula to calculate a company's revenue growth, expressed in percentage form:

Revenue growth = (Revenue this period - revenue last period) ÷ revenue last period x 100%

So, what would be considered a percentage indicating good revenue growth? How much growth is considered ideal? This will depend on the company, the industry it sits in and other economic factors. However, in general, a yearly growth rate of 10% sustained over a number of years is considered very good. According to research by Bain & Company, only about 10% of global companies can sustain an annual growth rate in revenue and earnings of at least 5.5% over a period of 10 years, while also earning back their cost of capital.

Gross profit margin

A company's gross profit margin is a ratio that shows the percentage of its gross profit in comparison to its sales. The gross profit margin is essentially the ratio of profit left from sales after deducting the cost of sales (COGS). It's calculated using this formula:

Gross profit margin = (Net Sales - COGS) / net sales

Generally, the higher a company's gross profit margin ratio, the better it's performing. A higher ratio indicates the company is managing its COGS well and accordingly, has more to cover for its operating, financing, and other costs.

The gross profit margin will show you a company's cost efficiency and help you track its performance across a period of time. It also helps you assess the overall financial health of a company and helps make peer-to-peer comparisons convenient to carry out.

So why choose quantitative analysis?

While there are other techniques to analyse a stock, such as fundamental and technical analysis, quantitative analysis has proven to be very popular as the historical and current financial data of most companies is readily and publicly available. Utilising quantitative methods for investment analysis is also possible with just a little analytical or research practice, and even beginner investors can use this technique effectively and conveniently to valuate stocks and make sound investment decisions. Furthermore, this analysis technique can be used across a wide range of sectors since you'll be able to obtain reliable data continuous over your desired periods of time or investment tenors.