主要内容顶部
一只猫在看手机;图片使用于汇丰新加坡关于投资的6大迷思页面。

关于投资的6大迷思

如果您从来没有尝试过投资,或许会认为投资是有钱人的专利。但当您开始了解投资,您就会发现投资的门槛并没有那么高。抛开对投资的刻板印象,投资其实离你很近。

迷思一:投资的风险太高

是的,任何投资都有风险。几乎所有正规的投资产品都会包含这样的警示信息 “您可能无法收回投资本金”。 

而关键是要了解投资涉及的具体风险,以及风险可能会发生的变化,从而就自己能够承受的风险水平,做出理智的决策。与其让资金躺在储蓄账户中,您可以通过承担适当的投资风险,让它们获得更好的增值潜力。

一些投资的风险较低,比如“谨慎型”基金。此类投资尽管仍有风险,但它的价值一般不会有太大的波动。这也意味着,随着时间的推移,您可以获得更平稳的投资收益。在汇丰,我们也会提供这种类型的产品,为您帮助管理投资风险。​

迷思二: 有钱人才能投资

在过去,投资或许确实如此。然而,现在投资已变得十分普遍。在线基金平台和在线投资顾问服务实现了投资的大众化,因此无需大量资金,您也能进行投资。​

想要开始投资,其中一个最简单、经济的方法就是使用单位信托基金进行定期投资。它的初始投资金额低至新币1,000元,您只需在之后的6个月或更长时间,每月固定投资新币100元。 

同时,你也可以通过外汇进行小额投资。您可以买入多种货币,并在汇率对您有利时卖出货币,获得收益。

投资已不再是有钱人的专利。

迷思三:投资必须锁定资金

确实,当您持有投资的期限越长,您顺利渡过市场震荡、获得正收益的几率就越大,但这并不意味着您需要锁定资金。

大部分的投资没有规定固定的投资期限,当您卖出这些投资产品时也不会产生违约金。因此,您可以随时使用自己的资金。 

然而,投资与储蓄不同。您当然不希望 因为急需现金,而在市场低迷时被迫卖出投资,并承受投资损失。

正因如此,投资的一条黄金法就是,在开始投资前,您应确保自己的应急储蓄能满足3到6个月的费用支出。举个例子,假设您的汽车突发故障,又恰逢市场不景气,您就可以通过应急储蓄进行修理。这样不会影响您的投资,并可以给它们足够的时间恢复价值。

迷思四:进行投资,您需要成为股市专家

许多投资新手认为开始投资的唯一途径是进入股市。的确,证券交易是一个很受欢迎的选择,但它往往十分复杂,需要对股市的持续分析和关注。但投资并不只有股票这一种方式。

我们大多数人可能并不是投资“专家”。因此,投资基金也许是一个不错的开始。购买基金就好比购买现成的投资产品组合。它的最好之处在于,这些投资产品由经验丰富的基金经理挑选,他们作为专业人士,是投资方面的专家。

在汇丰,我们拥有专业的投资人员。他们为您谨慎挑选种类丰富的基金产品,并为您积极管理这些基金。

如果您没有信心自行选择基金,就让我们助您一臂之力。通过投资顾问的建议,您可以了解当前状况下适合您的基金、您应该投资的金额以及知晓自己是否已经做好投资的准备。

迷思五:您必须时刻关注您的投资

在投资中,了解重大市场变化固然重要,但这并不意味着您需要时刻追踪市场动态。单位信托基金就能满足您的这一需求。

通过单位信托基金,您只需选好投资产品,然后将剩下的工作交给专业人员处理。单位信托基金由专业人员管理,可以确保符合您已选择的风险水平。因此投资单位信托基金的风险低于直接投资股票。

如果您希望亲力亲为,自行选择投资股票,也不用担心每天关注大盘动态。当您通过我们开立股票账户,​我们将为您提供免费的市场分析及方便的辅助工具,让您更好地掌握投资。您可以设置需要关注的自选股名单,方便您对所选股票进行全面了解。

我们也为外汇投资提供类似的工具。比如,您可以通过外汇限价买卖,实时了解汇率。您可以下达指令,设置指定的时间及汇率。当市场汇率达到您设定的汇率时,系统将会自动执行兑换。

当您通过汇丰进行投资,不论是外汇、基金还是股票,您都可以在登录网上银行时,看到账户的余额。

迷思六:进行投资,一定要知道买入的最佳时机

人们常说要“低买高卖”。但问题是,影响股市的因素太多,预测股价何时见底或见顶基本上是不可能的。当然,关于投资还有另一种说法:“时机不重要,时间长短才重要。”

投资的一个关键之处,在于要尽量早并且尽可能长时间投资。投资的期限越长,您应对市场波动的能力越高,因为您有更多的时间等待低位反弹。

如果您想了解目前的投资状况,以及为达成投资目标还需要做些什么,您可以通过我们的财富规划助手,了解详情。​它可以为您模拟理财计划,让您了解自己还需要多少储蓄或投资,以实现退休,或其他重大人生目标。

假如您计划在5年后退休,谨慎型的投资或许更适合您。如果您距离退休还有10年或更长的时间,那么可以选择更冒险的投资方式。同样,如果您不确定哪种投资适合您,我们可以为您提供专业的投资意见

您可能还想了解

一位女士在使用笔记本电脑;图片用于汇丰新加坡您不需要坐拥巨款才开始投资页面。
 

投资并不是有钱人的专利。了解如何开始您的财富之旅。

一个人在手机和笔记本电脑上搜索投资产品;图片使用于汇丰新加坡自我掌握投资的五大理由页面。
 

管理自己的投资,比您想象的要容易。

一位男士在使用手机;图片用于汇丰新加坡股票页面。
 

通过在线直接交易股票和债券,捕捉全球主要市场机遇。

一位用着手机的女士在看城市面貌;图片用于汇丰新加坡单位信托基金。
 

汇集您与其他投资者的投资资金,建立专业管理的投资组合。

6 myths about investment

If you’ve never invested before, you might think it’s just for moguls and tycoons with money to burn. But when you separate the fact from the fiction, you'll see that investing is more accessible than ever. Look beyond the stereotypes and you might even find that it's right for you.

Myth 1: It’s too risky

Of course, there are risks involved with investing. Any trustworthy source for investment opportunities will always include a warning like "you may not get back what you invest". 

The key is to understand the risks involved and how they can change over time. That way you can make an educated decision about how much risk is right for you. And by taking a calculated amount of investment risk, you can give your money greater potential to grow than letting it sit in your savings account.

You can find some lower risk investments, such as what’s known as a "cautious" fund. While there is still risk, its value isn’t typically expected to fluctuate much. This means you could invest and enjoy a much smoother, gentler ride over time. (HSBC helps with investment risk management by offering these types of products.)

Myth 2: You have to be rich

This might have been true in the past, but these days (thankfully), it’s much more democratic. Online fund platforms and online investment advice services have opened up investing to the masses so you can now start investing with relatively less.

One of the simplest and most affordable ways to start investing is with unit trusts using a disciplined approach of regular contributions. It takes an initial layout of SGD1,000 followed by monthly investments of SGD100 for the next 6 months – or longer if you wish.

There is also the option of making small investments in foreign exchange (FX). You can buy a variety of currencies, earning money by selling them when the exchange rates change in your favour.

Maybe investing isn't just for the rich after all?

Myth 3: You have to lock your money away

It's true that the longer you hold an investment, the more chance you have of smoothing out the bumps and making positive returns. But you certainly don't need to lock your money away.

With most investments there’s no fixed period you have to invest for and there are no penalties for selling your investments. You can absolutely access your money at any time. 

That said, you shouldn't treat an investment like a savings account. You wouldn't want to be forced to sell when the markets are having a downturn because you needed some cash. Otherwise your investments could be worth less than what you put in.

That’s why one of the golden rules of investing is to make sure you have 3 to 6 months’ worth of expenses saved in an emergency fund before you start. That way, if your car breaks down while the markets have a wobble, you can dip into your savings to get it repaired and leave your investments untouched, giving them plenty of time to recover.

Myth 4: You need to be a stock market expert

A lot of newcomers to investing think that the only way to get started is to play the stock market. And while securities trading is a popular choice, it is often complicated and requires constant scrutiny of the stock market. But there are other options.

For many of us, shall we say 'less-expert' investors, investing in funds could be a great way to start. Buying into a fund is like buying a ready-made, off-the-shelf basket of investments. Perhaps best of all is that they’re put together by a fund manager – an experienced investment professional who knows more than a thing or two about investing.

At HSBC, we offer a comprehensive range of funds which are carefully selected and managed by investment professionals who actively manage them on your behalf.

If you’re not confident about picking a fund, why not ask one of our advisers to do it for you? By taking investment advice, you can find out which fund is right for your current situation, how much you should invest and whether you’re even ready to invest.

Myth 5: You have to monitor your investments daily

While it's important to be aware of major changes in the market, you don't need to constantly check for updates. This is another reason why unit trusts can be a great way to invest.  

With a unit trust, you can invest and leave it in the safe hands of the experts. They’re professionally managed to ensure that they stay at your chosen risk level – again, making them less risky than investing directly in shares.

Even if you take the more ‘hands-on’ approach and invest in shares, you don’t necessarily need to monitor them daily. When you open a Securities Trading account with us, you get free market analysis and other tools that put you in control. You can set up personalised lists of your favourite stocks in the watchlist so that you can have an overall view of all your preferred stocks.

There are similar tools for FX investing, such as FX Order Watch, which monitors exchange rates around the clock. You can place an order for a certain time and a rate you're happy with and it will automatically make the conversion when your watched rate has been reached.

And when you invest with HSBC, whether in FX, funds or shares, you’ll see the balance of your accounts every time you log on to online banking.

Myth 6: You have to know when it’s the right time to buy

One basic saying everyone knows about the markets is "buy low, sell high". The trouble is, there are so many factors influencing the stock market that predicting when a share price will bottom out or hit its peak is practically impossible. But there’s another saying about investing: "It’s not about timing the market, it’s about time in the market."

The important thing is to start as soon as you can and invest for as long as you can. The longer your timeframe, the more volatility you should be able to deal with because you’ll have more time to recover from any lows.

To see where you're at and what you'd need to do to reach your goals, you can try our handy Wealth Planner calculator. It lets you simulate your financial plans, so you can see how much you'd need to save or invest for major life goals such as retirement.

If you’re 5 years from retirement, you may want to select a cautious investment. If you’ve got 10 years or more to play with, you may be in a position to be more adventurous. Again, if you’re not sure what’s right for you, you could get a professional opinion for some investment advice.

You may be interested in

A woman is using laptop; image used for HSBC Singapore You don't need a fortune to start investing.
 

It's not just for the rich. See how you can begin your journey today.

A man is using his mobile phone; image used for HSBC Singapore Securities trading.
 

Access global opportunities in major markets by directly trading in stocks and bonds online.

A woman looking at the city while using mobile; image used for HSBC Singapore Unit trust.
 

Pool your money with other investors, with a professionally managed portfolio.

Singapore skyline with sunrise; image used for HSBC Singapore Foreign exchange.
 

Easy solutions for dealing in foreign currencies.